Peplink Routers

For now it seems that my favourite routers is a Peplink. For the data centre I still like Juniper and Linux routers but for advanced home and office networks the Peplink really wins in my opinion.

At home I have the Peplink 20 running the beta firmware which has the advantage of centralised Wifi management for access points.

Things I like about the Peplink.

  1. No need to reboot when you make simple changes.
  2. Nice web interface I find easy to use.
  3. Multiple WAN, I have Virgin and Voxhub connections plus occasional 3g via USB.
  4. Lots of flexible and simple rules for outbound traffic.
  5. All devices are named in the web interface, Ben’s Laptop, Theo’s Nexus
  6. Bandwidth usage graphs and per device
  7. Reliable

The better Peplink models are great too, I think it is the 380 we have in the office. This has higher bandwidth throughput and more features for managing inbound traffic. We have a 100Mb and 1Gbps connection on it and it performs brilliantly.

http://www.peplink.com

Peplink have this mad 4 times 4G router that would be fantastic to test if I had time. Perhaps, Trefor Davies would like to do this. We did some tests around London not that long ago for 4G on different networks. We got 40Mpbs down load at times.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

